A finished project. Chalkboard refridgerator

I’ve actually completed a project! In my last post I mentioned the Pinterest challenge. Basically it was to complete one project that had been pinned to my personal Pinterest page. I chose to do work on my old icky refrigerator. I’m going to apologize in advance for my iphone photos.

So this is how it looked when I started. Well actually it looked really gross and dirty. This is how it looked after I cleaned it with a magic eraser. If you haven’t used a magic eraser, you need to go buy a box. They are amazing. It really is magic.

Next step was removing the handles. I just left the little screws because I wanted to replace the handle. I painted around them.

Then I sanded the whole thing lightly with my electric sander. It has a little dust catcher filter so it wasn’t too messy.

Then I primed the whole thing with Rust-oleum primer for metal. I let it dry overnight.

After the first coat of chalkboard paint I wasn’t feeling so confident. Um..that looks weird..and streaky. I’m not sure about this project, but I’ve come this far so I’m going to keep on keeping on. Oh, I used a tiny little foam roller to apply both primer and paint. The paint was the valspar brand from Lowes, although I know rust-oleum makes chalkboard paint also.

And here is the final result, 3 coats later. Now I still have to wait a few days for the paint to set completely, and then cure the fridge with chalk before I can start drawing, but overall I’m happy with the look.

I probably should have emptied the fridge, and left it open to paint the “inside part” because I didn’t really think about it, and the white showing between the doors really bothered me. So I tried to paint it and almost painted my doors closed… opps. So when you open the doors it looks like this. Not cute.

But it was an easy weekend project, and I’m happy with the outcome. I feel so accomplished every time I walk into the kitchen, so I deem this project a success.

Updated pictures with actual chalk and random stuff:  I discovered that you need a damp cloth to clean the chalkboard or it just smudges and looks messy, as you can see in the picture below. But normal chalkboards are like that anyway so I’m not worried about it. They do make chalkboard markers, that might keep things less dusty if you are worried about it.  Also, the four layers of paint did not make a difference on the magnetic ability of the fridge which I was worried about, since one of the tutorials I read said they used a few layers of magnetic primer under the chalkboard paint. So I just saved you a step. You are welcome. 🙂

So fun!

Check out the projects from the girls who inspired all of this activity in my house.

And while your at it, check out the post with the amazingly funny/akward video they issued to get the challenge started. So silly. Click here to watch the video on Katie’s blog.

5 thoughts on “A finished project. Chalkboard refridgerator

  1. Great job! I also chalkboarded my refrigerator, but didn’t sand or prime. Bad move. It chipped right away, and is now in horrible shape. Yours turned out looking fantastic, and I bet it will hold up for the long haul!

    • Thank you!! I do hope it holds up well. I usually wouldn’t sand or prime, because I’m impatient, but I spent a few days spray painting and reupholstering a chair not to long ago and it chipped right away. I was SO annoyed so I decided to try prime and painting from now on. Hopefully it’s worth the extra work!

You know I love words, so leave a few for me here.

